It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A culture is the unique characteristics of a society within a specific area, and a tradition is the usual practices of that society. Traditional dances, musics, and clothes are the physical aspects of the culture, and a group of distinct people can also create the same values and morals that are accepted as the core of the culture of their society. These examples of cultural and traditional parts of a society have been formed in a very long time, and some other factors might give an effect to the established culture. The globalization and a growingly connected world emphasize intercultural exchange and the modern one can also change the overall traditions of the people. These external variables that are present in advanced and developing nations are transforming the traditional customs of the people, and many people will choose the more pragmatic new examples than the complicated and burdensome traditions.

The more urbanized a city is, the more likely it receives more influences from the outside world. Numerous technologies that are enabling humans to communicate and connect easily with other people or information from the other countries eclipse the traditional values of the society. Remote cities and rural areas far from the big cities might preserve the culture better than the central cities due to the less frequent connection with the international communities. For example, people who live in the city can enjoy fast-foods in a modern restaurant and they are other cuisines that come from other countries, like chinese foods, that are equally desirable for the people in big cities. This new preference will shift their interest from the traditional foods to the more modern ones. Perhaps, they think the traditional foods are hard to cook and they are already bored with the foods that they usually eat since the younger age. Another example is clothing and language of the daily conversation. The workers in the a big city will likely to choose a modern and simple style of clothing that is easily obtained at the market, and in comparison, the traditional clothing can be really difficult to wear and impractical for daily use that requires agile movement and comfortable fabrics. The language in a highly globalized city will probably follow the english language because of its versatility for conversing with colleagues from abroad. Without any artificial efforts to maintain the traditions and culture, they will slowly disappear from the every day life of the people in big cities.

The rural populations in modern time, however, will retain the traditions more willingly than the big cities. They are far from the focus of globalization, and they are more likely to survive from the effect of modern cultures. The people at the rural areas tend to preserve their culture willingly, and they do so because they keep their beliefs on the traditions.

A contrast with the present fact of modern culture formation, in the past the big cities are the location which the traditions and culture grow rapidly. They are the central location of people movements, economic activities, and socializations that are the way a culture is best preserved. When the people use the same way of life, and the others mostly do the same, their culture remains intact and preserved. This condition differs greatly when the external factors exist like recently. The modern cultures are not entirely bad, yet a society that loses its identity will also lose the cohesion of the people. This needs to be stopped and the government and the people need to make many preservation efforts to maintain their identity despite all the effects from the modern culture.