Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Most people will surely say that the past is the best teacher in our life. Humans do make mistake from time to time. The more careless they are, the more mistakes they make. Even the most circumspect people can make a little mistake despite all the rigorous preparations and controls during their work. All people can not escape mistakes, as they are the part of all processes to become better. Failures are inherent to our life, and we can not escape them by being 100% perfect all the time. The probability of failing or making a mistake is not zero. The reason on which the notion based is that we need some distance from the past to make a connection and relate the past with our present is erroneous. The ability of a person to pinpoint a mistake or failure is highly affected by the skills and awareness of that person, and some may able to realize their mistake seconds after they have done something wrong or imperfect. Of course, realizing our mistake in an instance will make us guilty or motivate us to avoid the same mistake for whatever the reason a person might have.

The mistake that we make can be as big as a costly and damaging impact and it can be as small as making ourself hurt. People must have a great sensibility in detecting any error of their works, and some that are aware will find them right away. The distance between the occurrence and the realization can vary greatly, and it is not impossible that people will point out the flaws right away. For example, people who are accustomed to the same repetitive jobs every day will tend to level up their focus on their movements or the processes that are part of the job. Manufacturing operators from a advanced company are trained to move and act in a defined pattern in a daily basis and they must obey the rule to make sure no accident occurs and no bad product is produced. Sometimes, good workers can pinpoint any mistake or abnormality within the process and they will quickly inform their supervisor and they stop the process if necessary. They can also know the cause of the abnormality by analyzing the system that they are familiar with as they have all the standards for each of their job. A competent worker then will propose a solution or change to fix the system so the next cycles of production will be reliable and better than before. This case that we are discussing can be found in a big manufacturing company like Toyota and Volkswagen as they are the biggest companies with their well known safety standard and excellent quality of their products. The same case can happen in other places, even in the most commonplace activities like cooking or cleaning the house. People at home, when they are so adjusted with their daily tasks, surely will develop this ability of awareness to what is wrong and what is right. The statement of the distance that we must have from the past is needed to learn from our mistake is overly generalizing.

Learning from our mistakes can make us grow and become a better person. When we know our mistakes, regardless the time that is needed in the realization process, we will try to not to do the same mistake in the future. People who work at an advanced research institution will definitely understand this thoroughly. Research itself is a process of repeated trials and errors, the researchers experiment inside their labs or workplaces to create a new technology for the humans in the future. More sophisticated products need a lengthy processes of trials, and they often face difficulties and failures. These same failures in return can make them have better understanding in the fields, and they will try to make a revision so the next iteration will produce a better product. This repeated processes is one of the example of the importance of mistakes from the past experience in our life, and we can find this during our daily life. People with enough ambitions want to be the best version of our life, and they are also making many mistakes that other people will not know.

Another pont is we can also learn from other people’s mistake, not only from our own mistakes. Humans are social beings, and sometimes it is better for us to learn and grow together. Some mistakes can not be directly identified by our self, and sometimes the others can help us in finding the mistakes that we make. Mistakes and failures are surely our best teacher in life.