Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A decision of a politician can affect thousands of people. The prompt suggests that the politicians ought to exploit rational agreement instead of relying on unrealizable concepts. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this notion for the following two reasons, however, I do concede that in some cases, elusive ideas might work to enhance a situation.

First of all, a reasonable consensus can help the politicians to engage more with their people which is necessary to develop a nation. While discussing possible solutions of a problem, if the decision-makers consider their people’s desire and take realizable resolutions, they will gain strong support from the common public which will help them to materialize the solutions. For instance, during the 1980s, the government of Malaysia took numerous big decisions about the future of their country such as initiating a practical education system, providing loans of no interest to entrepreneurs, and utilizing the unused areas of the country by farming. During these decision-making processes, they investigated thoroughly whether they are realistic or not and took experts' and local leaders' opinions whenever necessary; they also encouraged people to work diligently. Since people trusted them, they started working according. As a result, just after 10-15 years, Malaysia achieved one of the largest economies in Asia and became a developed country. Thus, if they employed elusive ideas back then, they would not come to this position today.

Secondly, unrealistic concepts can damage not only the reputation of the politicians but also human lives and property. Sometimes politicians take decisions to gain support or strengthen their power over people even those solutions are not feasible. For example, in 2018 Indian government took a precipitous decision without discussing with any expert to ban the existing 1000 currency notes. They expected to prevent illegal money circulation, identify culprits as well as collect that money from them. But, due to the sudden change in the situation, people got confounded as they could not use their cash money and many of them started to act irrationally. Consequently, the economy started to deteriorate and many economists stated the decision as a non-viable move and then, the government had to withdraw the ban. Therefore, the authority should not reach any unreasonable conclusion that will likely backfire.

On the other hand, in some cases, taking quixotic resolutions might be useful to encourage innovations and creativity among people. Sometimes it becomes necessary to think out of the box if one wants to perform something different even though such approaches have a very low chance of success. For instance, many countries in the world are investigating space research that involves expeditions to Mars. With the current technology, this is not possible at all since Mars is far away from the Earth, and we do not have any spacecraft that can take a human there. Further, we do not necessarily have to go to Mars while we have Earth. Even after these facts, the governments are funding and exhorting researchers to continue their work so that one day they might bring a new world, full of possibilities, to us.

In conclusion, it is imperative that politicians pursue common ground and practical choices instead of illogical ideas to drive the nation in the right way although only in some special cases, something irrational might bring something positive.