Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Through scrutiny on this statement I do admit that scandals could sometimes make a difference. Totally speaking, however, I cannot agree with the given point of view without reservation.

First of all, the statement actually conveys some reasonable opinion. Certainly, people have to acknowledge the functions of scandals. The power of scandals lies in the enormous strength of public voices. When it comes to scandals, people tend to spread them without carefully thinking over its credibility, thus the dispersing speed is quite high and the range quite large. As a consequence, almost every resident know the scandals, giving the unsubstantiated affairs a big influence on the society. This power could lead to beneficial results. For instance, a government officer is involved in the corruption secretly but is not investigated and punished for some injustice reasons, perhaps negligence of relevant department. When some suspicious plots are captured by someone, he might spread the scandals that the officer is conducting some injustice affairs. Before the scandals are known by everyone, the authority would have to do something, like checking the officer’s bank account and criticizing the irresponsible department, so as to give a response to the public. What could be even possible is that the government might conduct a thorough regulation among the officers to make the government a more justice place. This is the benefit that scandals could sometimes bring.

Whereas, the fact that scandals could possibly attract our attention to some serious issues is not the reason to believe that it is fully useful.

For one thing, most scandals focus on merely people’s private life. Due to people’s inquisitiveness deep in bone, a large proportion of scandals are related to the personal affairs such as sexual relationship of a public figure, say, a star or an officer. Actually those unimportant things are beneficial for nobody at all. Plus, the creation and the spread of scandals are liable to disobey the law due to the damage on the privacy. If spreading scandals become a prevailing social phenomenon, the society could be quite unfriendly to live in.

For another, scandals sometimes might be utilized by those harboring devil aims. If someone has personal friction with some public figure, he might spread bad remarks to anyone he meets. This could be pretty negative for the public figure. What’s more, if the situation happens in a critical point such as the president election, the election could suffer unfairness, let alone that the candidate who is slandered would face big failure.

For the mentioned two reasons I cannot regard the scandals as useful things.

To sum up, I admit the positive effect that the scandals could possibly bring. At the same time I reserve my agreement to the usefulness of the scandals.