The government wants to improve the education of high school, and there are two plans:

1 choose a group of good teachers and train them first, and after that let them go back to schools and train other teachers.

2 provide training for every teacher online, providing online materials and letting them study individually.

The trade-off between the face-to-face training and online training has always been in the limelight of people’s discussion on education in recent years, and the training for teachers is not exclusive. Given the limited government resources, if one plan has to be chosen, I would definitely go for the first proposal which trains teachers face to face. Actually, the former plan has benefits which the latter could never bring.

To begin with, face-to-face presence could greatly ensure teachers’ concentration on the training. It is undeniable that the trainees’ full participation is the one of the key factors in the success of education. Well, the truth is that face-to-face training programs have much better trainee’s participation than online training programs. A research conducted by some psychologists showed that trainees tended to do more personal affairs when they were taught through the Internet compared with when they are taught in class. Moreover, in the online environment, people were more relaxed and easily to be absent-minded. All those factors resulted in people less focused on the training if they were in an online program. Yet on face-to-face occasion such as a typical class, trainees have to interact with the instructor constantly by means of, say, eye contact and verbal communication. Hence, being trained with direct contact with the trainer obliges the teachers to think more actively and help generate better teachers’ performance.

In addition to that, face-to-face training serves better in solving the teachers’ confusions and problems instantly. Typically, the function of a class or a training session is not only to give cold skills and knowledge, but also to answer the questions of the participants. Personally, I would spend about 10 minutes on average in asking the instructor some questions and listening to the explanations. For most trainees, it is inevitable to have some confusion in the course, so the process during which they turn to their instructor for some help is in fact an indispensable part in a training session. However, without immediate instructions, providing training for every teacher online, offering them online materials and letting them studying individually neglect such an important part. As a consequence, the teachers have to withhold their confusion, carrying the questions remaining to be answered into their teaching experience. In such situations, how the quality of education can be ensured?

The second plan, certainly, does have some advantages which excel the first plan, albeit the first plan has more feasibility overall. The most obvious merit of providing training online is the preferable reduction of the cost. To arrange the traditional face-to-face training, the government has to rent the classroom, buy the materials and cover the transport cost of the teachers. Thus, only part of the teachers could be directly trained given limited fund. Training online, on the contrary, requires nothing for the room and transport, which will spare a lot, so all the teachers could be covered directly by the program. Notwithstanding that the number of teachers trained is limited due to the cost if the first plan is implemented, if the government adopts some measures, the training could still work well as if all the teachers are directly covered. As is mentioned in the plan, only good teachers are chosen in the training group. Since good teachers are quite skilled at teaching, we could be confident in their training the other teachers.

To sum up, although the online plan could cover all the teachers, the first is more likely to work well. Therefore, it is advisable for the government to accept the first plan.