Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive. Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Through scrutiny on this claim and the reason, I do admit the important role that a major city plays in the cultural traditions and the necessity offering financial support to the major cities. However, the reason give is not that persuasive since the claimer neglects the declining trend of its cultural meaning and the villages’ and counties’ significance of maintaining the nation’s tradition.

Undoubtedly, it should be acknowledged that major cities do carry a lot the nation’s cultural traditions. The truth is that many cities came in to formation even earlier than the country. For example, Athens was formed earlier than Greek and the Roman earlier than Italy. In such a long history the major cities rendered a profound impact on the generation of the culture. You could found how important the Gothic style is for Russian when you have a walk on the road in Moscow. You might also be shocked by the freedom and love in the French culture if you are traveling in Paris. The historical buildings, statues and palaces could be pretty representative for the nation’s culture.

However, it should be made clear that although the major cities represent part of the nation’s cultural traditions, this function is declining increasingly.

Actually, the styles of the major cities, no matter which country, which culture they are from, tend to convergent. Skyscrapers, broad roads and the white collars with suits in hustle and bustle form the common landscape in New York City, Beijing and London. To achieve higher efficiency, the city is constructed in the most facilitating manner, and to some extent, the traditional marks such as dialects and old-fashioned clothes are gradually replaced by the same kind of pronunciation and the similar uniforms.

On the contrary, the villages and counties are still well maintaining the traditional things. For instance, in most villages in China, the girls are asked to learn cooking and knitting before becoming an adult, while the boys are required to till the land and do heavy jobs. This labor pattern reflects sharply the conventional attitude towards the social responsibility of males and females, that is, the males endeavor for a rich life and the females care for the family. In the cities, although such thing can be seen in the prevailing requirement that males should earn more than females, the cultural meaning is not that obvious as the example in the villages.

Surely, cities must receive enough financial support because they have to develop and the residents want a better life. But the necessity seems not lie directly in their cultural function. The villages and the counties might have more profound meanings of the nation’s cultural tradition, which should be given attention equally.