Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive. Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The claim states that government should provide adequate financial support to major cities, and provides the reason for the claim to be preservation of nation's cultural traditions. While I agree with the claim to aid cities monetarily, the reason provided by the author is not cogent. Major cities have several requirements that necessitate financial support, and cultural preservation is not a top requirement in that list. In fact, villages and small towns are more likely to retain the culture and traditions of a nation. Also, it is unclear how preserving cultural traditions will help cities to thrive. The reason thus provides inadequate support to the author's claim, and its fallacies can be easily proved by proffering opposing arguments.

Firstly, major cities definitely need to financial support from the government. However, the purpose of government aid to cities does not necessarily include preservation of the nation's culture. Major cities are viewed as the epicenters of the nation's trade, education, development and infrastructure to the outside world. Each city has a designated purpose - New York is home to some of the most prestigious universities such as NYU, Columbia University. Mountain View is where world's top tech companies have their headquarters. Beijing is among the most frequented business destinations. Washington D.C., Berlin, Tokyo are known for their political activities. These cities are not necessarily representative of their country's culture, history or tradition. Yet they must get adequate financial aid from the government as they act as the nation's powerhouse on certain levels. The governments need to keep their cities running so as to endure flourishing international trade, attracting skilled labor from across the world, establishing world policies. The author should have chosen this reason to provide a stronger case for his claim.

Unfortunately the reason the author provides is fallacious. The reason states that cities are instrumental in preserving the nation's cultural traditions. However, this does not seem to be the case at all. Cities are known for their fast moving, and progressive nature. One cannot expect a city to look the same way it did 5 years ago. Major cities all over the world have seen landscape changes due to expansion of roadways, introduction of metros, tubes or bullet trains, astronomical rise in residential complexes, high industrial growth. It is the villages, small towns and remote areas, miles away from the cities that have been left untouched by technological advancements which hold the country's rich heritage, and preserve ancient traditions. If the author wants financial aid to be directed in support of preserving a nation's culture, he should recommend the aid recipients to be these villages, not major cities.

Hence the author's claim is completely justified, however he fails to provide qualified reasons to support the claim.