As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

The dependence of humans on technology has been on the rise, however I do not agree with the statement that this deteriorates human capacity for thinking. Technology has impacted our lives in many positive ways. One aspect of technology that has affected almost all industries is the automation of boring and repetitive tasks. Tedious jobs like assembly of parts in manufacturing or handling accounting for businesses can now be achieved much faster, efficiently and accurately by machines. In fact, this is the ultimate goal of technology - making things work faster, more efficiently and with higher accuracy.

There was a time when NASA employed teams of people whose sole task was to perform precise calculations. It was an intensive task - breaking down large datasets into groups, dividing the calculations among teams, performing hand calculations on each dataset, shuffling around the results for rechecking and finally compiling all the results. Later on, they were replaced with IBM's huge calculating machines, which would do the same thing, albeit much faster.

One would argue that having a ready solution for all our small problems has affected our ability to think for the solutions ourselves. For example, having a calculator with us at all times will eventually hinder our ability to perform calculations in the absence of it. However, we need to ask if we still need to solve everything from scratch? What a calculator has done is not stunt our ability to perform mathematical operations, but it has freed up our time to focus on the more complex problems. We now have more time to focus our mental energies on bigger challenges, and technology has enabled us to focus on them by taking care of the menial tasks that anyone can do.

Historically, society as a whole has been improving and advancing towards a better future. We have sent people to space. We have found the cure to many erstwhile incurable diseases. All this would not have happened if it were not were for the pioneering minds of each successive generation. We now have higher standards of living as compared to just a few decades ago. We have come a long way not just because of technology, but because of the genius minds that make the best use of it and think for the future.