"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director proposes to increase the budget for advertising in order to reach a wider audience for their movies. To support his proposal, he states that while positive reviews of the movies are increasing, the attendance in the past year declined as compared to previous years. Stated in this way, the argument does seem to have some merit, but it needs to answer several relevant questions in order to be evaluated.

The author makes an important argument that it is not the quality of movies that drove people away in the past year, as the percentage of positive reviews about specific movies increased. This argument has a lot of gaps that need to be addressed. For instance, the director mentions "specific" movies when talking about positive reviews. But what about other movies produced by Super Screen? When talking about reviews to support his point, the director should also explain the reviews for all movies, not just some specific ones selected to bolster his claim. Furthermore, percentage is not a fairly lucid way of explaining the increase. What if the percentage of good reviews increased from 1% to 2%? It may be possible that the quality of movies are indeed bad, and people finally caught on and stopped going to Super Screen produced movies.

Furthermore, movie reviewers may not be representative of the entire movie-going audience. Different groups of people go into a movie theatre with varying expectations. While some movie goers love to watch a Tarantino movie for the loud explosions and impossible action scenes, others may not be that impressed with the simple and sometimes irrelevant plot of the movie. Another instance, a recent movie named La La Land, which won several awards, and received rave reviews, was not much popular among the wider audience of middle-class people, who were confused about the purpose of the movie, and eventually were not that impressed. Keeping in mind such scenarios, the director must be able to answer what are the demographics of the movie reviewers and how they differ from the average movie goer for their Super Screen movies.

Some of the nuances of the argument can be understood by the position of the director and his motivation. The memo is from the advertising director, and hence we can understand why he may want more budget directed to his department. But in order for the movie production company leaders and board directors to make their decision, it is important that they understand other reasons why their movies are not attracting that much audience. It may be possible that the cast of the movies is now old and forgotten, as newcomers keep popping up and catch the audience attention by becoming a sensation. Maybe the audience is now turned more towards movies that include the newcomers, rather than the same old faces. Or maybe the trend of movie genre changed, and suddenly people are more interested in horror films instead of romantic movies. The director needs to explain how these factors such as the casting and the genre of the movies are impacting the company.

The director also fails to account for factors beyond their control that may have impacted the decrease in audience. Since we are talking about just one year as compared to other years, this year may just be an outlier. It maybe the year of recession in the country which could explain why people are not turning up for the movies. Their could have been a dramatic shift in the political climate of the area, or even security tensions forcing people to stay inside rather than venture out for fun. While a stretch, such circumstances need to be evaluated to understand why people are not coming to the theatres, as in such cases, an increased budget to advertisement would be wasteful.