An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The new breed of millet engineered by the development organisation claims to have a positive impact on the people of Tagus. The government has already addressed major questions pertaining to introducing this new type of millet to its citizens - the cost of production, its health impact as well as the scale of adoption.

We need to however address some more important questions before we can completely recommend replacing the older variety with the newer one.

It has already been noted that the people of Tagus are suffering from vitamin A deficiency. To address this, the new breed of millet rich in vitamin A was developed. However, when discussing the impact of vitamins or intake of nutrients, it is important to understand their impact on the overall health of a human. We need to ask whether the amount of vitamin A in millet is within the range of recommended doses provided by medical experts, and whether there is any adverse impact on overdose or excessive intake of vitamin A, as we know that not just the deficiency, but excess of nutrients can also cause health problems.

Apart from the medical impact, we need to question its agricultural impact as well. Even though subsidies are provided for these new type of millet, purchasing seeds is not the only costly affair. Is farming the new breed feasible given the climate and soil conditions of Tagus? And if so, is it costlier or more difficult to sustain than the current agricultural practices? Answering these questions will help us to understand how many farmers will willingly take up farming the new type of millet as opposed to continuing with their older methods, and if it will be profitable for them to take up millet farming.

We need to question the method of engineering the new type of millet as well. What is the reputation of the international organisation in terms of aiding impoverished nations and developments in science? Are the methods of production of the new breed ethical and supported by health organisations like the WHO? Do they follow proper health and medical standards? We also need to be aware of the research behind the engineered seeds. Are they still in experimental stage, or has sufficient sample testing been done before releasing them to the market?

Asking these questions will help us gain an all-round picture of whether the new breed of millet will be helpful to the denizens of Tagus.