People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Decision making is a complex process which needs to take into account not just logical soundness of arguments, but the emotional impact of decisions as well. Making decisions may not be a binary problem in all situations. It requires thoughtful input from various angles to the problem. For example, making a business purchase decision like deciding the best option among different vendors may be guided by purely logical arguments, however, making a decision on selling ancestral property may need to take conflicting emotional interests into consideration.

As much as we depend on our emotions and gut feelings to help us guide towards our decisions, justifying such reasons with logic invalidates our concept of logical soundness of arguments. Logic and emotions are two separate classes of reasoning. Logical arguments can be derived using universally established principles, corroborated by theories from experts, and almost always have a definite outcome. Emotional arguments, on the other hand vary for each individual under different contexts. The outcome of decisions made on the basis of emotional factors does not guarantee certainty of success.

It is thus important to understand which aspects are dominantly guiding our decisions. If emotions are predominant, we should also understand the risk of leaving logical arguments aside and embrace the uncertainty of outcomes. Covering up the disadvantages of emotional decision making with logical arguments afterwards only aims to hamper our understanding of the problem and its results, and diminishes our ability to think reasonably in the long run.

Once someone makes a decision based on their emotions, they should understand its complete consequences, which can no longer be predicted by reasoning. If they, however, try to justify the decisions they made with logic, not only are they not trying to understand or take responsibility of the risks of their decisions, they are also being untruthful to themselves.

Based on the context, such kinds of actions may be unethical, outright lying, or manipulative. Logic is direct, emotions are not. When we make a logical argument, we have facts, proven theories, expert opinions on our side. When we make an emotional argument, we can at best appeal to the human nature, for instance, by evoking empathy. If we are making a decision on whether to hire or fire someone from our company, our actions need to be supported by cogent reasoning. If we take our emotions into considerations, and cover it up or justify it wrongly with logical statements, we are treading into unethical territories. It reflects on how well we can manage our emotions, how much influence these emotions hold on our actions and this shapes our decision-making skills. The less we try to acknowledge the emotional aspects in our decision making, the more we tend to become fallacious decision makers.