A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The recommendation states that the the national curriculum should be uniform across a nation until the students enter college. Stated in this way, the recommendation indeed has merit and should be adopted to enforce national education standards, remove influence of state politics, and ensure equality in education to all students.

An educational curriculum for government-run schools is usually prescribed by government bodies and accredited institutions. These bodies create comprehensive syllabi for students of all grades based on their average age, aptitude and a view of their educational needs of the future. The curriculum is well-researched theoretically, and regularly revised to accomodate changing patterns in learning and the sciences. It is evident that a lot of thought goes in to create a suitable curriculum for students. Hence, it is not only cost-effective, but imperative to leave the curriculum design to experts recognised by the biggest government body, rather than having multiple states coming up with their own syllabus.

Another important circumstance worth noting is the influence of regional or state politics. Politicians recognise the influence of education on the thought processes of students. When states are given the power to create or modify the curriculum of schools, they may use it to alter parts of text, especially in history and civics lessons, to support their narrative. Textbooks in India, for example, allow states to design curriculum due to the huge diversity among all the states. This has led to some unethical practices however, when elected leaders, such as those in Maharashtra, decided to pander to the masses and alter history books to reflect factual inaccuracies regarding certain historical figures. While science and mathematics may still be the same for all states, literature and social sciences play a huge role in changing the minsets of children.

Often universities require standardised entrance tests to be taken by all students. It helps to have a uniform curriculum for students of all states within a country to provide them with a fair chance at entrance tests. A standard curriculum ensures that all students are taught the same subjects and topics in school and no one has an unfair advantage in the exams. Standardizing the curriculum also helps in creating a uniform grading system. So a student with a 3.4 gpa in one state is no different from a student with the same grade from another state. It also helps universities determine the merit of students without having to take into account the differences in their educational background. Students today often face a problem in representing their grades to universities, while some students get an 80% with a more difficult school curriculum, there may be students scoring a solid 4.0 score due to their state's relatively easier curriculum. A uniform curriculum hence also enables universities to identify meritorious students equally.

The recommendation to enable uniform national curriculum is therefore a welcome move, and has various advantages for not only students, but colleges as well. Enforcing standardisation in education is a prerequisite towards ensuring equality in education for all students, and eliminates differences caused due to regional or state-level influences.