The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The claim suggests that in order to prepare the youth for leadership roles, we should instill in them a sens eof cooperation, rather than competition. While competition does have its merits and can be very useful in developing young minds, the values and education that a leadership role demands is best taught by teaching the principles of cooperation.

A leader is a visionary - one who leads a group of people, whether they are his followers, or employees, towards the path of success. A CEO's responsibility is to look for ways to expand the business and motivate his employees so as to achieve that goal. A President's responsibility is to ensure the government is able to address the public needs, and cater to the bigger goals of the nation, by simultaneously improving fundamental internal sectors such as welfare of the poor and education for all, and external sectors such as international trade and space programs. A principal of a school, also a leader, must ensure that not only the school runs smoothly, but also that the students are getting the best education possible.

The essential task of a leader, whether in government, industry or any other field is to lead his organisation towards success. When motivated by competition, a person's goals shift towards his own ambitions. Even if they are not in conflict with the organisation's goals, they tend to deviate the person from working towards improving the organisation. A healthy competition does help an individual to develop himself, by learning from his mistakes, getting inspired by peers, and continually looking to improve. However, if the end goal is to improve oneself, rather than his team, it does not make an individual suited for a leadership role.

Expanding on the above point, any type of leadership role involves teamwork. A single person cannot lift heavy mountains alone. However, a leader can, but only with the help of others. The difference between the leader and the person is that a leader knows how to manage people, how to convince them to work towards the goal. For this reason, it is important that we teach the youth about the importance of understanding people, developing empathy for others. This can only come about when we teach them cooperation. By making them aware that by expanding our views and cooperating with others we can achieve much larger goals more efficiently, faster, and in a more harmonious way, we mold individuals capable of leading the way.

Cooperation not only teaches the power of teamwork, it also empowers us to learn more from our experiences with others. When we cooperate with individuals of different perspectives and backgrounds, we understand deeper nuances of circumstances and their impact. We are exposed to ideas and thoughts of the people