To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Cities within a society are home to major governmental institutions, trade centers and residence to huge population.

The population of the cities are much higher compared to towns and villages of the society, largely because of the abundance of trade and jobs. Cities are home to major trade centers. People from towns far and near come are attracted by the promise of more work and more pay of cities. As a result, cities see a huge influx of people from diverse backgrounds which not only creates a rich culture of its own, but also opens up more opportunities for jobs and businesses. A society's economic well-being can be deciphered from studying the expansion of cities to accommodate the ever-expanding trade and population.

As we just observed, the diversity of people coming from different parts of the society transform cities into a melting pot of the society's culture. Rich businessmen move to the cities to expand their businesses. Poor townsfolk shift for opportunities in the labor market. Financially as well as culturally, cities house a large diverse sample of the society's population. Statisticians would concur, that such a diverse sample of good pool size of a society are great for making statistical observations on trends and patterns that characterize the society.

The great cultural infusion happening in the cities, however, tends to make them slightly more indistinguishable from other cities. It is much easier to draw similarities between cities than to distinguish them. From a thousand-feet view, all cities consist of major institutions of their respective societies - government, universities etc. They all have high population and consecutively large residential areas, they have more buildings than trees. To find out the differences between cities, we would have to study the nuances such as architectural designs of the buildings, or other style patterns that are nothing but remnants of the past. If we want to study the history and cultural origins of the societies, towns and villages hold more information than the cities.