Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The argument claims that manned space flight is expensive and dangerous. It further states that recent unmanned space probes are effective in gathering an abundance of information without the costs and risks of sending people into space. The author of the argument then proposes to invest resources in unmanned space flight. Stated in this way, the argument makes several assumptions and fails to provide substantive evidence on the basis of which the claim could be evaluated. Hence, the argument is flawed.

Firstly, the author states that manned space flight is costly and risky. Though the claim may have merit, the author does not provide any evidence to support the same. Hence, it becomes difficult to consider the claim as a serious issue while evaluating the author's proposal to invest resources in unmanned space flight. It maybe the case that the author is influenced by incidents of the past, such as the failed Columbia missions which led to the death of all astronauts on board. In such as case, the author may need to refer to the recent developments of space technology. Space travel has seen massive strides for the past few decades, with NASA sending atronauts to space more frequently. The success to failure ratio maybe much higher today, thereby weakening the author's claim.

Furthermore, the author states that manned space flights are costly. Again, this argument needs supporting evidence for better evaluation. The author needs to analyse the cost of sending astronauts to space versus the cost of sending advanced machines. Astronauts are highly trained professionals adept in maths, science, physics among a plethora of STEM subjects. They are taught to handle spacecrafts, identify defects in vessels and correct them, make judgements like changing trajecotry of the ships in high risk situations. To make an advanced machine capable of performing the same tasks, we not only need to build highly efficient computers with huge memory capacity, we also need a crew of equipped personnel to constantly moniter them, and make judgements for subjective situations from the earth. In the end, an unmanned space probe may prove to be more time-consuming and expensive as well, making the author's claim unsubstantiated.

We also need to weigh the pros and cons of manned and unmanned missions. The author needs to further evaluate how judgements are made on whether a mission is to be manned or unmanned, or a combination of both. These two types of missions may have wildly different procedures and expectations of results. A manned space flight may not be necessary if the task is to simply evaluate the surface of a particular crater on the moon, which has been previously visited several times. However, when exploring into the realm of space where we have never been before, and where communication links from earth cannot be maintained at all times, astronauts who are equipped with dealing with the unknown are more suitable to help the mission, rather than a machine whose decision-making algorithms rely on pure mathematics and logical reasoning. Understanding the objective of the different types of missions will help the author broaden his horizons of thinking and make a more reasonable proposal.

In conclusion, the author of the claim makes several assumptions which makes his proposal to be highly fallacious. if the author is able to prove the above mentioned assumptions as invalid, he may be able to proffer a stronger case for his argument.