Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive. Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Culture of a place can be described as the rituals and traditions people follow. From clothing to eating to language to lifestyle everything is heavily influenced by the culture of that area. In the past and in many places even today, culture is one of the driving forces of a society. However with evolution and urbanization some areas became more important than the others. These cities became the focal point of the nations for multiple reasons such as urbanization, high population, size of development or the economic support it is providing the country. Usually, more often than not these cities became the main economy generators of the nation.

However more often than not, with modernization of these developments, cultural traditions had to take the back seat to make way for modern living. People are renouncing their traditional ways of living to fit into the modern society and way of living. This has resulted in many cultural traditions dying out as urbanization is not able to sustain these traditions. Thus I don’t agree with the authors’ point of view that a nation’s major cities are the generators and preservers of the cultural traditions. However, said that, government should ensure that their major cities thrive as they support the economy of the rest of the nation.

In the twenty first century, as cities are growing they have become the backbone of the nation. They support the major part of the economy of the nation. They are the job generators, service providers, economy boosters of the country.

However cultural traditions of a country is also a very important and integral part of any country. National governments should try to preserve it too. But instead of adding this pressure to the already burdened major cities, the government should try to generate and preserve culture and tradition with some of the smaller cities. This will not only bring in more tourism to the nation but will also take away some pressure off the main cities. Moreover there will more economical generators for the country.

To summarize, I think the point of the author was not entirely correct. Although major cities do need financial support from to thrive as they are the financial supporters of the nation, but they are not the preservers and generators of the country. However the government should put their time and effort into conserving their culture with some of the smaller cities and towns.