Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive. Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which, that claim is based.

The author of this issue claims that government must ensure that their mega-cities get enough financial support to thrive and his reason is that a nation’s cultural traditions are generated and kept in these cities. However, as someone who has studied art history, I disagree his assumption since his reason is neither plausible nor justifiable enough. In what follows I will delineate why I think so.

Before anything else, specializing the financial support to only major cities in order to thrive seems not fair because if there is a defined budget for thriving and generating, it belongs to all cities regardless of how big they are. Maybe even in a small towns, something exist that can improve the whole country’s revenue. For example, some little villages have such potential in attracting tourists that no big city can do. So, the governors should allocate enough budget and share it according to population and the potential of returning money, not just base on the factor of being a major city. It is irrational that the author concentrates on maintaining cultural traditions aspects in order to allocating money, instead he should consider other key factors simultaneously which covers even little villages.

Second, many history books demonstrate that subcultures are born first in villages and little by little altered to culture and norms of a city and after that these norms affect the whole country. I mean rarely one can claim that only in mega cities the culture boost. actually, the villagers keep their cultural traditions more convivially than metropolis dwellers. So, it is imprudent to suppose that mega-cities are merely responsible of preserving cultural traditions. Even, in mega cities some sub- cultural traditions are ignored because people are always in a hurry and care less about a cultural tradition such as a family gathering ceremony.

Maybe preserving and generating cultural traditions need more money and seems so important for thriving a country but clearly it is not fundamental for countries which are not developed yet and need more infrastructures than anything else.

In final analysis the author opine that government must support their major cities financially and his reason is preserving the nations’ cultural traditions happen in cities. however, this can’t be acceptable while there are many other factors indicating in specializing of financial supports of cities or villages. Besides the reason of nations’ cultural traditions are preserving more in cities is not rationalize because as it shown in paragraph above even little villages play a central role in creating cultures of a nation.