The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

While the author emphasizes on the Maple County Council’s concern about becoming overdeveloped and decreasing of the farmlands, he fails to buttress his/her prediction of soaring the house price by limiting the supply of housing in Maple County just according to two city backgrounds in this special case. In following I will adduce some of the drawbacks and the confusing reasons which are not cogent enough to refer to.

At first glance the population of Maple County and its increasing rate is not clear. This factor is crucial in determining of housing price in a city. Maybe the housing demanding is not soaring as predicted by the council. Maybe the population rate is such low that the housing constructions meet the demands. Thus, limiting the housing supply just leads in increasing of house repairing costs and after a while the houses seem dilapidated. Thus, knowing what is the Maple County population growing rate is critical. Besides the council cannot estimate what happened to Chestnut or Pine County will occur exactly to Maple County too.

In addition, such a comparison between Pine or Chestnut County and Maple County seems irrational because it is not clear that why do people prefer Pine county to live in or why leaving the Chestnut county. The first scenario is that in Pine County there are many facilities that attract more people. Maybe Pine County has a famous university which many students have to choose to live in and Pine County does not have such amenities or places. It should be clear whether Maple County can attract immigrants or has such facilities that increasing inhabitant’s number unexpectedly or not.

Does limiting the housing supply mean that no more house will be built in Maple County and farmlands will be preserved? The author should answer this too and illustrate how the council will support the farmlands. Perhaps other reasons such as diminishing water resources pays off decreasing farmlands and people just heed to constructing houses in order to earn more money. Furthermore, in 10-15 years many other factors can interfere such conclusion and affect in declining or increasing in housing prices. So predicting according to one of the city will be irrational.

In conclusion, there are some questions mentioned in paragraphs above should be answered so that the author can delineate his prediction. Without providing enough convincing reasons, it would be imprudent to say such prescience will occur to Maple County and consequently the limitation of housing supply would be unjustifiable.