As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

The statement points out the fact that the increasingly dependence on technology would reduce people’s opportunities to practice their brain. I do agree with this view. But I cannot fully accept the conclusive tones that this will surely undermine humans’ thinking for the reason that this perspective disregards abundant meanings of thinking and the endeavor humans make to enhance their ability to think.

To have a closer look at this statement, I accept the underlying meaning in the sentences, that is, a worry about the overuse of technology which would exploit humans’ training on the abilities to solve problems ourselves. This worry is certainly reasonable. Decades ago, we had to do complicate calculations by hand, using tons of papers and time. The process was really tiring and demanding, while our ability to think meticulously was strictly practiced. Today, however, when one is asked to do some calculations, the first action is always to seek for a calculator. A survey among several high school students indicates that more than 90 percent of students have to refer to calculators when they are required to solve even pretty calculations. In terms of those facts, our ability to think of figures in mind and process them does deteriorate. Indeed, the same things happen in other fields. When we increasingly rely on the colorful TV and put the paper books aside, stopping imagining plots of a novel, our imagination tends to weaken quietly.

However, do those facts necessarily lead to the deterioration of humans’ independent thinking ability? The answer given in the statement might be presumptuous thus I cannot stand by it without reservation.

For one thing, not all aspects of humans’ thinking would be weakened. Actually, as humans arrange the tiring and time-wasting jobs to technology, they have more time and energy to think over on more important things. For instance, a scientist could just throw the numerous data to his computer to generate a result of an equation through the hard calculation. With the time saved, he might consider carefully on how his theory could be enhanced or how an equation is deduced, which might never be done by computers. As a consequence, although the scientist could not do hard calculations, he understood more thoroughly the theoretical framework, with a stronger logic skill and comprehensive thinking. In this term, humans’ ability to think for ourselves is even strengthened.

For another, even considering those thinking abilities such as doing calculations which might be weakened by dependence on technology, humans’ have some strategies to prevent the decline from happening. In many schools, calculators are only allowed to use for the students who are in grades high enough. This could guarantee the students a mature calculation skill by forcing them to calculate for themselves when in low grade. Similarly, some social organizations are trying their best to publicize an away-from-technology campaign. Activities such as no-television day do attract lots of people. We do not know how much it will work, but they do play a positive role in enhancing humans’ independent thinking.

To sum up, the worry that overdoing dependence on technology might undermine human’s ability to think for themselves is reasonable indeed. But the conclusive remarks would be unsubstantiated due to disregarding other aspects of thinking as well as people’s actions to prevent the bad things to happen.