Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

The statement reveals a point of view that the educational institutions should play an active role in the students’ major or occupational choices, with which I agree very much. However, what I cannot fully accept the claim is that it is stated to the extreme that the educational institutions should dissuade students from choosing certain fields of study. Hence I agree with some reservation, considering that some revision could enhance it.

First of all, part of the statement is reasonable, indeed. Certainly, students do need some instructions from the institutions when they are facing the various choices of majors and professions. The truth is that students are too young to calculate on important choices comprehensively. For one thing, they sometimes do not have enough information about, say, a certain major. One youngster may take it for granted that the actuary is just doing some calculations, whereas are dismayed very much for its complicate theoretical framework. On this occasion if the advisors could clarify for him what does actuary do, he could be clearer about the major and avoid choosing it merely by imagination. For another, students cannot usually evaluate themselves effectively since they have limited life experience and subjective distortions. Help from the institutions could facilitate them to make objective self-assessments thus the career choices could be made based on advantages and disadvantages. A student who is skilled at logical thinking might prosper his career in the academia, while one good at writing would gain an edge in the press. The educational institutions could play a positive role in those choices, consequently benefiting both the students and the whole society since the human resources are arranged according to their pros and cons.

However, should the educational institutions thus dissuade students from trying some fields if they are not likely to succeed? I think the answer given in the statement is a bit presumptuous hence I cannot accept it without reservation.

Surely, if the students choose something they are not suitable for, they might finally feel frustrated, and the time and energy wasted are not good for social efficiency, either. But this is not the reason that the institutions exploit students’ right to try. On one hand, the possible failure is not that serious. The students are so young and energetic that if they fail in something they can just switch to a new field. On the contrary, the experience of trying various choices would be more precious than success, because it is in the process of trying do the students know themselves better. On the other hand, actually even the instructors do not know whether some student would succeed in some field, for the reason that they focus on students’ talent more while ignore their persistence. In most of the cases, although one does not show talent in a field, he could fix this flaw by practicing more. As is mentioned numerously, practice makes perfect. The student who is unlikely to succeed in a field could finally win the applause by persistence.

To sum up, for most part of the statement I give my agreement due to the help it could give in students’ career choice. But I do not deem that it is necessary dissuading students from choosing some fields of study.