Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at

My assessment on this argument indicates that it is well reasoned, but not well reasoned. To support his point the author cites the hunters’ report. However, this information source is too limited and unreliable. Another evidence of the global warming trends is not persuasive, either, since the trends do not lead to deterministic result that the sea ice melts. The author leaves out many alternatives that could be the real causes for the decline in the deer’s’ number.

First of all, it is ridiculous to use the reports from the hunters to support the authors’ reasoning. Local hunters’ interest is highly related to the number of the deer. So it is not hard to imagine the possibility that the deer populations are not actually declining but just slightly vibrating. The hunters might be too sensitive about their fruit thus overemphasizing the significance of the deer populations’ change. Besides the specialty of the hunters’ group, to believe partially to the very several reports suffers from the lack of validity, too. Let alone that the hunters are not experts on population statistics. The author should refer more to professional surveys such as those conducted by local statisticians and biologists.

Secondly, the author mentions that it is the global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt. This statement is suspicious. Surely, the existence of global warming trends might be true, but are those trends significant to melt the sea ice? What if the temperature decreases a little while it remains still above the freezing point of sea water in the deer’s habitats? Just pointing out the trends is not sufficient to infer the melting of the sea ice. Supplemental statistics on the regional meteorology might provide valuable evidence.

Finally, the author attributes the declining of deer’s populations to their inability to migrate without considering many alternatives. Plenty of factors could affect the deer’s populations, both human-made and natural. For example, the decline in deer’s number might originate from the increasingly intensive hunting. Consequently, it is the hunters, not the environment that should be to blame. Plus, the increase in the deer’s predators would also constrain the species’ growth. Diseases could render a negative effect, too. Before excluding those possibilities, it is presumptuous to make the conclusive remarks.

To sum up, the author’s argument is undermined by the flaws of limited and partial information, and failing to contain influential factors comprehensively. An overall investigation on the deer’s populations might enhance the knowledge of the real situation. Plus, to spare some attention to other possible causes of the deer’s decline could help making more reasonable decisions.