Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Whether the government should provide funding for the arts has been heatedly debated in recent years. Some believe that the funding could prosper the arts thus are necessary, while others deem that the funding damages the integrity of the arts. Through scrutiny on this issue, the government funding is actually desirable even though it might cause some negative effects.

To begin with, we have to admit that the integrity of arts is important and the government funding could threaten the integrity to an extent. Arts have their distinctive characteristics among the numerous things in the world. They are selectively accepted in certain groups and more importantly, they tend to be far away from political affairs. The latter is quite significant for arts since part of the function of the arts are help people escape from the troubling life, sometimes the unpleasant politics, by providing people with natural beauty. Additionally, in some cases, arts could also be political when they serve as the supervisor of the political processes, examples including the satire and the ironic novels. Here, providing government funding could do harm to the independence of the arts since the interest of art parties is involved with that of the government and politicians. There is the risk that they tend to be the preacher of the authority.

The necessity of government funding, whereas, should not be denied due to the contingent disadvantages.

Undoubtedly, arts do need funding. On one hand, they are so important that they act as part of the spirit of a city, a culture and a nation. The Great Wall represents the patriotism of Chinese people and can make them very proud when referring to it. The Triumph is totally the landmark of France, standing for the spirit of liberty of French culture. Those are all arts. On the other hand, they are costly. The art work is usually done by only several people but spends tons of time and money. Without the strong support from the Empire, the Great Wall would not have been built. Having no funding from the government, the Triumph would not have stood for centuries. Hence, without government funding, it is pretty hard for arts to develop.

Considering both the pros and cons of the government funding, some measures could be adapted to reserve the merits while prevent the disadvantages. To separate political affairs and arts, the government could set up a fund which is regulated by several reputed nongovernment organizations. The funding is provided for art parties directly by the fund without knowing the origin. Thus the arts can remain objective when it comes to politics.

To sum up, the government funding has some negative aspects but we can adapt some measures to prevent them and make the funding prosper the art.