Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The necessity of adding history as compulsory course for all students in various fields has been, for years, in the limelight of discussion among the educators, where people never seem to see eye to eye. Regarding this issue, the given statement, in my opinion, should not be considered as reasonable.

When it comes to history courses, some may argue that they are greatly beneficial to students. Admittedly, the virtuous circle of taking history courses for those who major in social science is obvious. For a student who studies sociology, history courses help them form a better understanding of the culture, the potential reasons for people’s certain behavior, and in turn broaden her knowledge and enhance her research abilities in her own fields. Besides, history courses, cultivating perseverance and confidence in young people, have educational significance. Only if we learn the hard-working of our ancestry, which laid the foundation of the country for us, we will start to treasure the current well-off life. In light of the educational function of history courses, it is very conducive to take some history courses for students.

However, the advantageous aspects of history courses do not imply that they should be added to the list of compulsory courses. In fact, considering of the actual burden of students have already, it is unrealistic to require every student to take history courses. In current universities, students are fed up with the whole day studies of professional courses, which already lead them to the verge of burning out. If the headmaster now announce that history courses are compulsory, for those who want to do good on both history courses and professional courses, they may be stressed out by the burdensome courses. In order to save time for studying, they may sacrifice their sleeping time, shorten their meals, or eliminate the outdoor activities, which are harmful for their health. Even worse, some of them may even get depressed. Hence, the unfavorable side of adding history as compulsory courses is unavoidable, by any means.

Furthermore, history courses don’t have direct benefits to students in certain subjects, such as mathematics, botany, or astronomy. In order to make a revolution in their field, they need to devote themselves into the hard-working of researches. Specifically, they can decrease the time they spend on professional realm, and put them into the study of history courses. Such decisions, however, will harm their future career potentially. Let us assume two mathematics graduates, one getting straight A in all the courses, and published papers on top journals by proofing some important theorems, while the other taking courses in history, whereas the GPA in mathematics being quite poor and owing no publications. Which student is more prefer by the employers? Certainly the former is the desirable candidate.

To sum up, history courses are of advantages to certain degree, which is conducive to add as electives for students who are interested and have the energy to take them. Nevertheless, considering the fact that the disadvantages of adding history courses as compulsory outweigh the advantages, it is an unwise decision to make, and we should avoid requiring all students to take history courses.