Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the prevalence of Internet, we are gradually caught up in the ocean of exploded information, which gives rise to a bunch of debatable issues. Some argue that people should make the most of such convenience and stay informed about events across the globe, regardless their relevance to our life. This opinion, though seemingly reasonable, does not make complete sense.

To be crystal clear, I am not saying that learning worldwide news is bad. Indeed, we are constantly instilled with the platitude that keeping informed of things happening in the world wins you an edge in all aspects of life. For practitioners in specific sectors, like finance and accounting, stay current with the world no matter how irrelevant it seems to be may serve you them well. This is because any piece of news has the potential to make or break their job prospects. If you fail to predict what the events’ impact will be, you do not have what makes for a rock-star employee. Moreover, the benefits carry into one’s personal connections and friendship. We all enjoy getting along with people who know a lot, don’t we?

That being said, we should still be critical to this argument and look at this issue more closely. Then we will realize that knowing about events around the world does more harm than good.

First, learning too much about global events may rub off negativity on us. This sounds incredible but happens every day. The crux of this point resides in mass media, which prefers to diffuse bad rather than good news. Reflect on what you have read from today’s newspapers. Do you feel energized or dismayed? Chances are, instead of knowing the happiness of other people, we are more likely to know how many some disaster has killed, how fierce the tit-for-tat confrontation between politicians is, and how cruel the terrorism is. You expect to be refreshed by some news in the morning but end up being hopeless and even cynical for the whole day. The press thrives on war, economic depression and political scandals, which takes a toll on the happiness of everyone’s daily life.

Second, over-informing ourselves of global events can rob us of time and energy which could otherwise been spent on concrete endeavors to build a better-off life. We are all grassroots and have no power to sway the things far from our routine. When hearing of terrorists kill citizens, we may be angry; when knowing some dictator cruelly rule his people, we may get enraged; when the poor and the downtrodden are constantly produced by unjust wars, we will feel disappointed. As much as how urgent we feel to change the world, the only thing we can do is to focus on our jobs and work mutually toward a better future. Hence, what’s the point of dwelling on this news, staying stuck in emotions, and forgetting to get our hands busy? On top of that, people in the hustle and bustle of modern life have got enough affairs to get stressed out easily, why don’t we just let go of them as much as we can and stick to what we can control?

In a nutshell, knowing about events around the world does have benefits, whereas to prosper, we’d better cling to our jobs and prevent the negative impact of ruminating on the bad news.