Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The effects of movies and televisions on young people’s behavior has been, for years, in the limelight of discussion, where people never seem see eye to eye. Regarding this issue, in my opinion, that the benefits of movies and televisions apparently exceed their negative effects.

Admittedly, negative consequences of certain kinds of movies and televisions exist, which may lead to the misconduct of youth. In order to be lucrative, some movie makers utilize violence, sex, and juvenile delinquency. These scenes are teemed with negative description of society. Even though these descriptions are not necessarily realistic, for youth in their formative age, they are prone to imitate in order to show off their so-called “special personality”. Take the famous TV series “gossip girl” as a example. The TV series describe a group of school-age girls and boys who live a lavish life, and have a mess personal life. If a girl watch a show like this, potentially she may treat them as stars and imitate their behaviors. In this case, she can only end up with underage pregnancy.

Negative sides of movies and televisions do exist, however, the virtues of their effects outweigh the detriments, if youth utilize them properly.

First, the significance of educational meaning of movies and televisions should not be ignored. Despite some shows exaggerate the negative side of society, other reveal the positive side of the society, which impart youth with energy and enthusiasm. For example, I’ve watch the movie of Happy Potter. In the last episode of the series, when Harry fight against Voldermold without hesitation, I am encouraged by his behavior.

Second, movies and televisions are also good ways for relaxation. Teenagers nowadays are usually fed up with burdensome school stuffs, many of them may even come on the verge of burning out. If the pressures are concealed, they have the tendency to get depressed. Nevertheless, if they have the chances to watch movies and televisions, which largely prevent them from overwhelming by the schoolwork, the result will be conducive in terms of their psychological health. Imaging that after hard-working for the whole day, is there anything more comfortable and relaxing than sitting on the sofa, watching some tv series whilechewing potato chips? Thanks to the development of technology, youth are equipped with such excellent way for relaxation.

In conclusion, though drawbacks of movies and televisions do exist, they do not surpass the benefits on teenagers.