To understand the most imporant characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

The statement emphasizes the importance to study the major cities for someone who wants to have a better understanding of a society, with which I greatly agree. Moreover, to achieve the goal more effectively, I think some complements such as to study on the villages and counties could be accepted by those people.

At the first glance of the statement, we know the author wants us to know how necessary the knowledge on cities is if we plan to understand a certain society. Certainly, this view is quite reasonable since cities do carry a lot the social culture. Cities always have a long history even longer than the country, examples including that the formation of Roman is earlier than Italy, Athens earlier than Greek and so on. Too many things have been impressed into the cities’ buildings, people and landscapes. If you are walking on the road of Moscow, seeing the Gothic buildings and churches, you can know better how much the Russian society is influenced by the Gothic style and how much weight their people lay on the Ester. While when you are traveling in Paris, you can strongly feel what significant meaning freedom and love have by feeling the passion in the kissing couples, the happiness of the birds and the sexiness of the river. Without the knowledge of Moscow or Paris, one might never understand the inherent grand in Russian culture or the freedom in French culture.

However, only focusing on the cities could be partial and narrow, thus the additional knowledge on the counties and villages might serve as a good complement.

Besides the cities, counties and villages also cover a large percentage in the social culture. Actually, in most societies, especially the developing ones, counties and villages contain even a larger percentage of the whole population. They have a long history and form interesting traditions which are quite representative for the society. For instance, in most villages in China, girls are asked by their parents to learn how to cook and knit when they are adolescents, while boys are trained to till the land, doing the heavy job. The labor pattern reveals Chinese’s sharp conventional attitude towards the responsibility of males and females, the former endeavoring for a rich life and the latter caring for the family. Although in China’s cities you could also discover such trend that the males are required to earn much more than females, the tradition is more obvious in the villages.

In the counties, propound social meanings are abundant, too. In a typical county in China, the population is relative small, thus people have a fair proportion of acquiescence. When people have something in trouble, such as the children’s disease, they may conveniently turn to their doctor friend, quite different from the western people who will call their family physicians. The prevailing social network facilitates residents’ numerous affairs. If you want to know how the acquiescence network works in Chinese society, to live in a county for months is a good suggestion.

To sum up, for the most part of the statement I will give my agreement, whereas the claim could be enhanced if we pay equal attention to the study on villages and counties.