Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

According to the prompt, it is predicted that in the near future, Science and technology will serve as a pancea to all kinds of predicaments and quagmires faced by the society today.I strongly agree with this statement and the reasons for which I will be expounding in this essay.

Firstly, we have advanced and progressed in every aspect of life today, this is mainly due to science and technology. Today, we cannot imagine a world without technology, for instance each and every individual owns a phone, from children of the age 6 to the elderly. In the olden days, telephones were rare and were considered anachroistic, but today anyone without a mobile phone for few minutes makes them restive and fraught. Another vivid example to this would be the computers replacing teachers these days, everything is available online, from online courses to completion of a degree. There is no need for one to attend classes physically, and especially with pandemic taking over, the schools have also started online classes. This being the case, has made laptops arrantly indispensible source of learning.

Secondly, the Science Technology Engineering and Mathematics programs that is abbreviated as STEM programs are in high demand more than ever. Many students opt for undergraduate courses in computer science, or biotechnology or civil engineering to name a few. The most trending jobs in 2021 according harvard review commitee are in Robotics, Artifical Intelligence and cyber security. This is because the job prospects in such industries is augmenting dramatically. Especially India, the country which has the highest number of people in the age range of 20-40, is like a factory of engineers and almost 50 lakh students graduate as an engineer every single year according to a study conducted by the Government of India.

Lastly, there is a myriad researches currently going on in the field of science and technology. For example, In India almost 50 crores is spent annually on research for finding a cure for detrimental diseases like diabetes and cancer that increasing ubiquitous today. The government is pouring money magnanimously into research and development because it is the only way to make world a better place. And to encourage youngsters to pursue a career in research they have initiated several grants and awards for the same. Another instance of the same would be the whole world struggling to find a drug that is efficacious to cure COVID-19. Without the developments in technology and science we would have a vaccine for this behemoth of a disease this early, becasue it usually takes almost 10 years to produce a single drug.

In conclusion, Science and Technology is the backbone of a nation's development and will solve every quagmire that is to come in the future.