The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The above prompt says that technology is an indispensible tool which has and is dominating the world. According to school board the students should be trained for the programming languages so that they can land much better jobs in later stages of their life. The prompt is riddled with many logical fallacies, on which I will be shedding light upon.

To begin with, the school is aiming on training the students only for programming. In technology, there is so much more other than programming, and programming is just one part of technology. In addition, not all students will be interested in coding and computers. Every student is unique and has different set of interests. For example, what if a student is interested in biology, and wants to become a medical professional, why would he or she need to lean coding which will be of no use to them in later stage of their career. Making programming class a mandatory, will just burden and suffocate the child who has a different interst, which is why coding class should not be made a mandatory. Other interests should equally be encouraged by the school board.

Secondly, in the prompt it says that all jobs require programming, which is certainly not true. There are many jobs which does not require programming at all. For example, the medical profession, a doctor or a nurse does not need to know programming to do well in their career. Anoher example is, an artist, he or she would not need to have a prolix understanding of coding to be successful in the art world.

Lastly, it is said that data scientists have great job prospects and get the best salaries. It might be true today, but after a period of time, say ten to fifteen tears later, it cannot be said or assured that data scientist job will still be the highest paid job or the hot job in the market. Future is unpredictable, and just because something is great today, it cannot be avered that it will be the same tomorrow. For example, today, the whole world is fighting against this noxious virus called COVID-19. No one knew two years back that such a thing would happen and all of us will be in lockdown. If someone said that a virus is going to attack the whole world, nobody would have believed it and everyone would have thought it is a hoax. But, the deadly disease did affect us all. And today, doctors, nurses are extremely essential than any other professional. Scientists are trying their best to find a pancea for this very diasease and is one of the top most jobs today in the market.

In conclusion, the argument above has many unwarrented assumptions and gaps. It falls apart when these fallacies are questioned. Hence, it cannot be said that future will be dominated by technology and coding classes should not be made a mandatory instead the students should be given an option in this case.