Scientist and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasonin

In recent years, there have been lots of discussions about whether scientists should conduct research that benefits the majority of people. While I agree with this statement, I believe that other purposes should be taken into consideration.

It is true that there are many good results coming from research areas that benefit humankind. Indeed, projects funded by the government or industry have continuously improved not only our standard of living but also the efficiency and effectiveness of work done. The invention of vaccines, for example, by Doctor Pasteur has helped millions of people develop protection from deathly diseases, thus reducing death rate and increasing life expectancy. Moreover, by gaining the public's favor, their projects will attract more governmental or private investment. One of the best ways to apply for financial support is probably through gaining public recognition and satisfying the need of the mass. Since many studies require years of research and an enormous amount of capital, it is important to seek and obtain funding at an early stage of the process.

Having said that, scientists should not be restricted in any field of study by public opinion. In other words, they should be allowed to engage in experiments in their best interest and provided opportunities to do what they are good at, considering the main purpose of science being encouraging creativity and curiosity. Many life-changing inventions particularly microwaves or dynamites were discovered by a spontaneous idea or a moment when their intention was not to serve the interest of people. Such innovations could be beneficial or harmful to people, but it is undeniable that they have made a major contribution to society’s development.

In conclusion, although the main aim of research should be beneficial for all mankind, researchers should not be limited regardless of their outcomes.