Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

The world consists of a variety of species covering a wide spectrum of uniqueness and it is the ultimate responsibility of human beings to safeguard these species. However, if the extinction of such species is due to nature then human intervention won't affect. Therefore, I mostly agree with the prompt that society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities because of the following reasons.

Nature plays a significant role in balancing the environment. It is responsible for maintaining the proper decorum of society. This can be understood by a simple example of a food chain. In the food chain, the number of every species is dependent on every other species, and hence here comes the role of nature. Moreover, the extinction of the dinosaurs was an effect of the natural cause. It was the call from nature to extinct the dinosaurs and hence if nature is responsible for the extinction of any species then whatever efforts made by humans to safeguard those species won't get in the way and the results will be negative.

However, nowadays people are the major catalyst of eradicating the environment. People are involved in a myriad of activities that are impairing nature and ultimately causing harm to the species. For instance, people are constructing roads, highways, bridges, involved in hunting activity, etc, amid the forests resulting in deforestation that is leading to the killing of the species who are majorly dependent on the forest for their food and shelter. In addition, the species while crossing the roads or the highways for their food requirements are being hit by cars or trucks leading to the killing. Statistical data of the killing of the animals besides the roads and highways yearly are catastrophic. There are around ten thousand killings of animals due to road accidents. Hence, the government should take crucial measures to ensure the safety of the species from human activities.

Government should put in laborious efforts to control the environment and should impose several environmental laws to ensure the safety of every species. The government of the society should put employees in the forest to monitor the activities of the humans and to impose harsh punishments if they see any violation. This would help to produce awareness among the people of the society and will impart welfare for the society and the environment.

To conclude, it is important to put restrictions on human activities to fence the endangered species. Many species are on the verge of extinction due to human intervention. Some of the species in India, like Black Panther, are only a few in numbers due to humans' mass hunting, and therefore to keep a balance in the environment it is necessary to limit human activities.