Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.Write a response in which you disc

The topic raises the controversial issue of if a leader’s attitude must be more competitive or cooperative to be successful. Indisputably, competitiveness is important in the capitalist economic system we live in and brings innovations and effectiveness forward. Nevertheless, as a leader, you have to be a part of a team which works together to achieve better outcomes which, then, helps the institution you lead get in a better position compared to other competing institutions. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that successful leaders have to be vastly competitive in order to achieve best results and would argue that cooperation within a company is a more important aspect.

First, the basic economic principle of specialization in labor taught us that, when working together, we accomplish higher outcomes. I would like to point out that this is the reason for the separation in departments in both enterprises and governments which proved to pay off to foster better specialization which a leader has to overlook and steer. To illustrate, let us look at the example of the German government where the chancellor, Angela Merkel, needs to make sure that each ministerium reaches their goals, that everyone works together and gives their best. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that, as a leader, cooperation with employees or delegates is crucial to be successful among the competing parties.

Admittedly, competition helps us to improve the product you are working on in a company or increase your diligence at work to stand out. Competition brings people to go the extra mile and work even harder than their intrinsic motivation would lead them to. This is true especially when it comes to two or more people fighting for a position and, therefore, glancing with their best performance through overtime hours or extraordinary goals set. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that leaders in the industry, the government or other fields are always in competition in their positions and even face that situation with their employees. Because leaders take care about the outcome of the institution they are working for, emphasizing on specialization and that all the different departments are working together efficiently, since they are not competing with each other, is more important.

In conclusion, although competition often helps to let people achieve higher results, as a leader it is crucial to cooperate within your company or parliament. In fact, a combination of cooperation and competition could often be useful within divisions, but that requires a highly competent leader.