Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

We are living in a society where leadership is receiving more and more attention. To get things well done, governments, industries, or other fields must have successful leaders. However, opinions vary about the judgment on whether a leader is successful. In my opinion, a successful leader should be competitive enough, rather than cooperative. I hold this view for two reasons, which I will dilate on in the following essay.

First, one should be competitive first before s/he becomes a leader. A lot of people seek the opportunity for being a leader. Only by beating others can one succeed in this competition. For instance, when a bunch of people attending a job interview, the employer will only pay attention to the one who shows the most abilities. Also, after getting the job, only the one who has the highest KPI will receive the most salary and have the best chance to get promoted. Although cooperation is also an important skill in the company, following others' paces won't create any possibility of promotion. Therefore, competitiveness is the top priority for people who want to become leaders.

Second, only by acting competitively can one make others listen to him/her. Persuading others is a crucial ability for any successful leader. If a leader can't refute others' criticism, how could s/he build up the authority, make his/her subordinators follow him/her, and put his/her ideas into practice? And being able to persuade others means being competitive. Also, after being a leader, s/he will receive many doubts and disagreements from outside. If the leader wants to enlarge the team, s/he must try to refute people who disagree with him/her, and thus strengthen his/her influence. A successful leader can even enroll those who initially dislike him/her, by effectively persuading them. Therefore, competitiveness is also necessary for a team's solidarity and development.

Last but not least, cooperation is also significant. A team won't accomplish anything if it's broken apart inside. The more cooperative the teammates, the more effective the team. It's also necessary for a leader too. If the leader never works with his/her team but only gives instructions, s/he will soon be discarded by the team.

In conclusion, a successful leader must be both competitive and cooperative. But competitiveness weighs more, for it is necessary for becoming a leader and for a leader's authority.