Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Humans have always been competing against each other for resources, status, partners since time immemorial. this has led to competition being ingrained in our cultures and socieities. competition is something we cannot avoid if we want to be successful in life. thus, I mostly disagree with the prompt statement that we should be instilling in our young generation a sense of cooperation and not competition.

we have to face competition in every aspect of life and it is something which helps us to grow and emcourages to be better than other people. competition is everywhere- take our schools for example. we may encourage cooperation among students all we want but when it finally comes to exams, students will always try to outscore each other to get the best grades possible which will help them secure admissions in good universities and so on. it becomes evident that we only have fixed number of seats in good colleges and the number of students always outnumber those seats available. thus, we need to encourage students to be score better grades in order to secure their future.

Additionally, the competition does not stop after we graduate out of schools and colleges. it is natural that people will always try to outsmart each other for managrial positions in companies. if a person enters into corporate life, he will have to compete against very motivated and smart people for good positions in companies, else he will fall behind in the corporate ladder. there is unimaginable amount of competition in the market as well. if a person starts a company, he not only has to provide good services to its customers, he will have to compete will other companies who will leave no stone unturned in order get their competitor's product out of market so that they can all the market share.

However, there are a few exceptions when people have to compromise and cooperate with other people. In a democracy, the leaders have to be cooperative for the government to function properly. if a person only thinks about its own interests, this will be hurtful to the country and can prove disastrous for the democracy in the long run. Consider the case of a country like USA, which has a diverse population. The leader of that country should be cooperative so that the grieviences of all races, genders and people if different demographies are heard.

In a nutshell, competition is unavoidable part of life and those who avoid it must do it at their own peril. In order to succeed in life, one has to compete at every step, whether it is school, university or office.