Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The society must instill a sense of cooperation and healthy competition in the minds of young people to prepare them for roles of leadership. The extreme nature of the prompt is the best solution to the paradigm. I disagree with the prompt for two reasons.

Firstly,the leaders in any industry are responsible to grease the wheels to keep a team of people wroking in and out daily. And a team is a leader's refelction as in a team looks up to the leader for his qualities while working alongside people and follows it. For instance, a textile businessman who sells cotton,sees that the market is seeing an increase in silk yarn. But going into the silk yarn trade would require him to connect with people who he considers as his competitors. What should he do? In this case,if the leader decides to expand his business to silk yarn,he should be effectively thinking of his growth and must realise that he will son be a part of both the trades if he cooperates with the silk yarn trader unions. On the ohter hand,if the leader is stuck n the competition,he might lose himself a big opportunity. Hence it is important for students to understand the value of coopertaion agianst competition

Secondly, in fields of government,industry and other such influential jobs,the first step to get in is through working with the existing magnates and learn the craft by cooperating with the superiors and inferiors alike. The example of AMUL aka Anand Milk Union Limited is one such instance when the leader showed how through cooperation one can beat competition. The milk suppliers in India had monopoly in certain areas and each area had a different person and hence a different price,due to which the public suffered a lot. Verghese Kurien,the founder of AMUL,talked to all the milk suppliers and put forth the proposal of a single milk union,throughout the country. Today,AMUL stands as India's largest supply of milk and dairy products.

This example illustrates that competition proves to be useful when one is in a superior position where the competition will enhance his skills or help him network.It could never be the first step. Whereas cooperation,as a skill can effectively beat competition as it gives people a feeling of support.

While it is true that a competition fosters a sense of achievement and pushes one to give his best and if not win,learn enough to be able to win the next time. But competition in professional world is not as innocuous as it is in schools. In a profeesional world it could lead to detrimental results in the form of jealousy,loss of relations and in worst case scenario, economical losses. Hence students in school must be taught the difference between a healthy competition and an unhealthy one. A school must imbue students to work in teams and use cooperation as a tool to solve the problems,afterall what cant be done by an individual can always be done by a team.