"Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make a

While it is true that corporations need to concentrate making as much profit as possible, they do have some degree of responsibility for the well being of the society. This is as much as it is true with any particular individual holding some responsibility towards the environment. Although it is breaking no law in defaulting on such responsibility, it is however the basic bare minimum we should do for the environment we live in, after all we are what our society and our environment is and the current situation of the environment is what we made it is.

In the case of big organisations and firms, the impact they can make on society, either good or bad will be profound given the scale of it. For instance, the environmental activities like beach cleanup drive, fund collection marathon, plantation drive, although small and costs next to nothing for them, will have a very beneficial impact on the environment. Recently, many organisations are tending towards such a society aware attitudes rather than being apathetic towards it, which is a good thing. Conspicuously, we would have missed these helpful things if not there is no such notion of responsibility in the corporations.

Further, if the attitude of having whole concentration only on money making without any concern towards society whatsoever would be pernicious. Such an attitude would often result in selfish activities with ulterior motives. For example, constructing big factories and industries without any consideration towards the environment had never brought good results to anyone apart from the firm owners. Moreover, it causes irreversible damage to rivers, wildlife, trees and eventually humans. Such instances are not rare in the history and clearly can be interpreted as results of having zero to none responsibility towards environment and would have been avoided or lessened if they felt accountable of their actions.

Furthermore, the classic conundrum of the disparity between rich and poor, rich getting richer and poor getting poorer can also be imputed towards this nonchalant nature of corporations which would have been obviated to an extent if corporations are responsible in educating the poor children and providing them with basic amenities.

However, having said this about the feeling of accountability and responsibility of corporations, they should not be blamed solely since at the end of the day it is the responsibility of every individual towards the society. Otherwise, any attempts by a corporation or a government to improve the society would only be ephemeral and eventually futile.

In conclusion, it can be agreed upon that, although corporations need to make money , they also have to be held accountable for their actions impacting society and be responsible in maintaining and improving the environment.