Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Corporations were created to make money. However, that is not to say they believe in valuing their customers and showing appreciation through attaining quality status and entertainment. I therefore partially disagree with the notion that corporations have a responsibility to the society they find themselves in for three reasons.

To begin, corporations do not exist solely because they found a method of obtaining money and are greedy. They worked through their challenges in order to accomplish their goals as entrepreneurs and are benefitting others through their hard attained work. In one instance, Amway was built by entrepreneurs wanting to create more jobs, and to make money, ultimately. Their hard work enables hundreds of people to have jobs from which they can live by. However, some individuals may have forced them to promote more than jobs. Companies can actually use this incentive given them from either their state legislature or their consumers in order to advertise themselves. This can be seen in a public demonstration such as sponsorships. This gives the company a headway into searching for promotions regarding their company, in addition to demonstrate their willingness to contribute to their established consumer niche.

Secondly, many corporations exist as small businesses, such as a family owned donut shop. These smaller corporations contribute widgets such as entertainment or gourmet food for their society or environment. They are already giving a huge share of their time in presenting high quality products for those circumstances they find themselves in. This does not necessarily prove those companies should display some forced public demonstration like the bigger companies because they may not have as much money to spend on that type of “responsibility.” Smaller companies should be dealt less expectations by their society or environment due to their income being significantly less than most larger and more well-known companies like McDonalds or Amway corporations.

Third, Corporations should be viewed as one individual putting in a strong effort into making a living. Perceiving corporations in this way, presents people with a notion that corporations have faced numerous challenges with state tax laws and a myriad of criticisms that they have the right to earn a significant amount of money, though they also give generously back to whomever has indulged in what they sell or services provide. This view may hold merit in that corporations in one sense are in the business of obtaining an exorbitant amount of money. Nevertheless, those companies are willing to hire individuals and compensate them for their work, as well as hopefully provide quality assurance in their products and services.

In conclusion, corporations have a responsibility to obtain a substantial amounts of money in order to provide for themselves, their employees and to continue their hard work. However, corporations are also willing to establish public displays for their own interest, such as advertising and creating work for people, but also to build positive rapport for their environment they operate at; their contribution to their society can potentially create a positive rapport for the city itself by improving its economy and the amount of jobs it creates.