Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

The notion that society has become more about self image than seeing the truth behind that image is certainly highly prevalent. Moreover, many individuals hide behind a façade of smiles and phrases, all the while exerting great effort in order to not display their true selves. In my opinion, I partially agree that image has become more appealing than the truth behind that image for three reasons.

Individuals want to have a certain image for others they portray in their lives, never to bring in to full view how they really are. This is done through a myriad of methods, such as social media and photograph filters. We have become completely obsessed with our self image, enhancing our images in order to become an entirely different person. It is egregious to think about meeting someone you met online and finding out they are not the spitting image of their profile picture. The truth being exposed, the individual knows they are not going to build rapport with the other, so they continue to hide behind their generated self online.

Moreover, text messaging validates one’s image once they receive a myriad of texts. It is not so much the content of the messages one receives, but rather the fact they obtained a message, validating their existence. The terror of being known is unimaginable so many retract in their rooms, and find comfort from the validation they receive from complete strangers, may that be from online gaming communities, or a quick like for their Instragram filtered self. This concept of creating yourself against the reality of how you act or look, overshadows and subtly impedes the fact that one can be comfortable with themselves without having to attain enough validity from a complete stranger.

Businesses play on this appealing self as much as individuals strive to be the most popular person on their social media medium. Advertisements specifically hide most of a business’ imperfections by highlighting their accomplishments and consumer items on display. It is egregious to experience seeing the perfect hamburger and French fries meal on a billboard, only to have it presented to you as a half-hearted burger with cold fries. Nevertheless, companies reach many persons’ wallets by displaying cleverly disguised advertisements to snatch one’s attention.

In conclusion, the unfortunate reality that creating an appealing image has become more important than the truth behind that image is prevalent around the world. However, it helps businesses to grow and some to feel appreciated for a few spent moments. Society certainly has become more about drawing one in with much aesthetic rapport than not.