Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible. [Specific Task Instruction: Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

What is the responsibility or duty of an eligible corporation? Some believe that it should promote the well-being of the societies, while some hold that it only need to make as much money as possible within the law. Although the former opinion is the original definition of a corporation, I still agree much with the latter one .

When corporations, or companies were created due to the demand of expansion of economics centuries ago, they are tools for making more profits to meet the increasing requirements of life qualities. Therefore, the owners take it for granted that as long as they obey the rules, the only goal they were to realize is to try all methods to earn more money. In merchandised societies, merchants sometimes were viewed as the symbol of cupidity, they made usury loans, did not help the poor but serve the rich, which often irritate many plebeians and people in lower classes. As it shown in Shakespeare’s famous novel: The Merchant of Venice, we could easily find that the negative impressions people had on them. Nowadays, corporations which focus only on making more money but ignore the social responsibilities usually invoke the anger of people could be more easily become the target of critics, newspapers or even the attorneys, who supervisor the behaviours of all companies and punish them mercilessly if they violate the red line. Take the case of the financial crime in America, though it is hard to define the real insider trading, the hedge capitals are just playing the fire--as the saying goes:”The rules may be fussy, but if you break the law, you belong to the jail.”

I concede that, after all, the major aim for corporations is making as much as legal money, since it is what they were created for. It is doubtless to say that many well-operated companies form a sound social environment. If corporations continue to make large profits, the capital chains will never break, money flows quickly, allocating the social resources more appropriately, which keeps a thriving society. Take a look at the breaking out of every economics crisis, the companies could not earn profits during the recession so the debt kept increasing, finally leading to chain reactions of bankruptcy.

Nevertheless, it does not mean that the corporation need not pay attention to their social responsibilities. As the society develop to such a stage, nowadays people concern more about the welfare of all people rather than the regime of economics development. So, only by taking more social responsibilities such as raising funds for people or improving the environment can a corporation build up a sound image in public and achieve success eventually. For example, a successful company bring jobs and related economic benefits to the community.Meanwhile, it often pours more investment into environmental protection and in turns gains a reputation for social responsibility that often helps it become more successful and profitable. Microsoft have made funds for over 31000non-profit organizations during the past 30 years, Apple helps fight AIDS in Africa every year. All these successful companies are trying to show that their concerns for social problems, in order to get public support and attract more customers. In addition, it is also a key for a healthy society to operate: the rich take on more responsibilities and help the poor, reducing the gap between social classes and thus create a more harmonious world.

To sum up, as the minds updating, it becomes more important for corporations to take on more social responsibilities than ever before; but the two goals do not contradict most of the time. So, to be successful, a corporation ought to contribute more to improve the welfare of all people instead of focusing on short-term profits.