Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts. Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Some people are inclined towards the opinion which states that the involvement of government in funding of arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. While there is another cohort of people who argue that the participation of the government will threaten the integrity of the arts. I agree with the former statement and the following are the reasons for my point of view.

First of all, it’s not obscure to know that elitism has always been an integral part of exposure to art. This limitation in exposure of arts came with a great cost of losing some of the finest artist as well as an appreciative audience, this limitation can be refuted by the intervention of the government as funding provided by the government could actually bring down overall expenditure. Therefore enabling more people to enjoy the luxury of arts.

Secondly, the involvement of the government in art-related matters can improve the quality of art education in the nation. Lack of funding in art education has been an integral part of downfall and in some cases even the total shutdown of some of the best art institutions, this particular situation can easily be avoided by the participation of the government.

On the other hand, some people might think that the government funding of the arts may threaten the integrity of arts, if the government misuses arts to promote a particular agenda for some political benefits would compromise the overall creativity of the artist and will eventually lead to demotivation for them. However, this can be avoided by laying down some rules and regulations to check any such malpractice by the government.

In summary, I believe that the involvement of the government can be a boon to the arts. Therefore, I strongly support the idea of government funding of arts.