Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Funding of arts by government is necessary because it will guarantee the availability of arts to the people. Arts usually require much capital and low return on investment. Thus, I believe it is only government that would have the patient to fund arts without anticipating profit in the short term, unlike the private investors that would need a quick return on their investment.

Even though the arts may not yield interest in time, the government should still fund it and charge the people a token fee to access the arts center. More people would be able to access the work and beauty of arts, since it would be affordable compared to when it’s funded by private investors.

Nothing tells the story of a nation or government like its arts. By funding arts, the government invariably would be selling her image to the public. In today's world of globalization and free trade, this cannot be over empahized. Tourists from different countries and background would be interested in knowing about the nation’s arts. In so doing, the government can attract investors, which will in turn improve the economy of the people and the government.

The world of arts depicts creativity and innovation. People will be able to challenge their minds to create more works of arts from being able to access the existing arts. In the long run, the arts could create employment and yield foreign exchange for the nation.

The level of resistance and activism to government policies are growing by the day. People need to be engaged in the world of arts to give government space to pursue policies that would improve the economic and social well being of the people. The idle mind, they say, is the devil’s workshop. The more people are involved in arts the less time they would have to block government policies.

In the light of the above, I believe the government would be doing itself a lot of good in funding the arts, which will make it flourish and available to the people.