Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more influence on children's behavior

Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much powerful influence on children's behaviour. I believe blaming media for the cause of violence in our society is not completely valid, and that too as specified in the issue, especially among children. What I believe is, children's peer groups and/or parents play a much powerful influence in children's behaviour. I would like to explain the reason behind it in the following paragraphs.

The reason I believe that children's parents, peers, relatives, and surrounding environment has a much powerful influence on children's behaviour than any type of media because children are connected with the individuals around then more than any kind of media. They learn from their surroundings more compared to what they learn or gain from the media. The environment in the house and/or surroundings, and the way their parents behave in front of a children has a big impact on the nature/behaviour of children with his/her surroundings and/or peers and relatives. They learn what they see and gain from their parents, teachers, and peers, since their childhood till they are grown ups.

Children grow up and learn about things and gain knowledge more from their surroundings and the environment which they have in their respective homes and families than from media. Children are not introduced to media upto a certain age. They may not understand the things displayed or viewed in different kinds of media, rather than that, they would learn more from what they could see practically happening in their surrounding environment and the way everyone around them behaves in front of them. Even peers play an important role in shaping of the child's behavior as much as parents and teachers do. It doesn't matter how well parents take care of their children and teach them to behave well in front of the world, but if peers with whom they accompany much of the time in schools/colleges are not well behaved, then children are more likely to learn from them and not behave well. It is parents' and teacher's duty to teach their children how to behave in the society, how to respect elders, how to avoid any kind of violence in our society.

However, I would also like to add that, even media might play some role in shaping of the behaviour of children and the violence causing the our society upto some point. Nowadays, their has been an increasing misuse of different media. Especially electronic media, they show many negative news and spread messages which are not suitable for our society and our children. They may have bad effect in our society, resulting in wrong behaviour and violence of different kinds. But I still believe parental role models play important role in shaping children's behaviour than media does.

Hence, according to me, children's peer groups and parental role models are a much powerful influence on children's behaviour.