Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

It is true that chldren imitate what they see. Their surroundings have a strong and profound effect on who they are and how they behave. And both media and their peers have an influential role in determining children's behaviour. I believe, that while media is responsible in shaping how the children behave, but the influence of peer groups and parents is more profound.

If the only thing the media broadcasts is the violence going on in the world then it is sure to leave a wrong impression in the minds of the young. For example, if the media constantly shows how a druglord is evading arrest even after commiting several murders, a may child think that the reason that they are at large and can not be stopped is because they are powerful. When a person sees that threats to lawyers, for instance, can change the verdict of a case, they may naturally assume that with greater power of fear factor they may get away with any indescretion. How world is portrayed, what aspects are hilighted and how they are hilighted also makes a big impact on what impressions it leaves on the young. I agree that it is media's responsibility to show what is actually going on in the world, but they can stop exaggertaing facts and make a point to not only show but also criticise wrong behaviour.

On the other hand, if a child has abusive parents who beat him, then the child naturally assumes that beting people is acceptable. If the father indulges in domestic violence, the child too will consider that hitting women, or anyone weaker then themselves is allright. Thus, if children have violent friends, they naturally tend to become increasingly violent themselves, because violence is what will get them accepted in the group. If they choose to be more bovine, they are frowned upon by their peers. If they choose not to indulge in drugs while all their peers do, they are ridiculed. There have been several cases where a children started a browl as they were cajoled into doing so. They might have friends who praise them if they beat some one up, or abuse someone.

However, if their peer group believes in helping people, and if their parents teach the children not to engage in violence, and if the parents practice what they preach, it is much less likely that a child will turn violent irrespective of what the media shows. The child will have role models and peer circle which frowns upon wrong doings, be it stealing or drugs or violence, and thus they are more likely to refrain from indulging in such things.

Hence, it is imperative for a child to be in correct company, as it is the prime factor which will influence how they behave. If a person has good company, then other factors will have less negative impact on the child.