Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

The political leaders are elected to power by their constituents, it’s his duty to serve the people based on what the situation demands rather than some dogmatic principles prepared centuries ago. Hence, political leaders must yield to the public opinion and do what’s best for his constituency.

Consider gay marriage, a decade ago the thought of people belonging to the same gender marrying seems extremely ludicrous. Here we are in 2019 where it’s not only common for same couples to marry but also for people to change their gender. This was made possible because the political leaders have listened to the grievances of the LGBT community. This is a prime example of how it helps for a politician to listen to the public opinion, because the world has lost many great minds like Alan turing who was chemically castrated and later on commited suicide. The main rule in a democracy is “For the people and by the people”, if the politician discards public opinion altogether then it would be a autocratic rule. This is evident not only with the LGBT laws but the civil rights movement, where African American were treated inferior to their white counterparts and after prolonged struggles and protests, the were provided equal laws.

Furthermore, in India agriculture is one of the main occupation in the rural areas. The farmers suffer great losses due to the lack of agricultural law in the country. This results in the farmer taking loans and further loss takes him into a everlasting debt which has caused the suicides. If the government wouldn’t have listened to the public and provide subsidy on the loans it would’ve caused millions of people to lose their livelihood.

Nonetheless, constantly committing to rules has its own advantages. If the nuclear laws stated by the united nations is considered, it enumerates the rules to be followed by a country in order to build and test nuclear powers, if these are not adhered to we will end up with one more Hiroshima-Nagasaki incident which has caused human destruction on a colossal scale. Not only nuclear laws, if we consider the recent terrorist attacks on India, the general opinion of the Indian public was to go to a major war. As, witnessed by the air strikes carried out on the alleged terror camps suggested that the government have listened to the country’s anguish and attacked the terrorist site. Later, Pakistan army has tried attacking the Indian Military camps and in turn capturing an Indian soldier. If the pakistan government have yielded to the public opinions and not adhering to the geneva convention which states how a war prisoner must be handled. It would have resulted in a serious war between two nuclear powers. Hence, we can understand why it's important for a politician to strictly follow the rules.

Finally, for a government to have a halcyon regime it’s important to heed the grievances of the community and take an action as necessary, if not the world democracy in its entirety would lose the essence which could end up hurting the identity of a nation.