In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

The magnitude of success of a book, novel or a poem is greatly dependant on the how the people its targeted at understand it, accept it and relate to it. Hence its of utmost importance for a work of art to be relatable and understandable by the people for its success or veneration.

We live in a world where the success or merit of a movie or a book is measured by the amount of money it earns or the number of copies sold across the world. For. people across the world to buy a book or watch a movie it, they must relate to it. As evidenced by the success of the Batman trilogy, it hits a nerve among many people to be moral, to be sacrificing for a greater cause. The movie was a box office success and also attracting a huge number of audience across the world as it portrays a character that's many people strive to achieve. Books carry a similar weight as movies. As witnessed with the success of many non-fiction or philosophical books which are didactive on how to live your lives to the fullest without wasting time, how to improve yourself are an instant success because of how well people relate to the idea of living lives to the fullest extent. This is not only true for non-fictional works,consider the Harry potter series which is about wizarding world targeted at young audience. It’s famous among adults as well, because it takes them out of the ordinary world where they worry about bills among other tensions of life, to a carefree world free of tensions where a boy goes on adventures against an evil wizard.

Furthermore, If we consider poems especially those that are revered in the contemporary world, strike a nerve. Ravindranath Tagore who is world-renowned poet and author have written many number poems during the time of famine in Bengal which were relatable to people. In dark times they served as hope for the people who lived in tragic conditions. If you take Romeo & Juliet for example, even though it’s a tragic story, is an iconic one among people as it portrays the veritable concept of what true love is supposed to be. This can be true for songs as well, especially in Pop culture. Most songs are relatable to the young people, Even though artists like Justin Bieber have terrible vocals skills and even though he does lip sync when a song is played in the background, ends up filling Arenas because he is relatable to the young people.

Finally, There are also works which are revered in the artistic world but are simply not relatable or understandable to the general public. Lolita a novel about the relationship between a lascivious man and an underage girl is a prime example. For me personally I was surprised at the amount of people who were in awe of the book. On the topic of movies, there might be some which are not understandable on your first watch, such movies include Interstellar, Inception among many others, these movies are very convoluted and requires high discernment to understand them, these are still considered masterpieces.

In conclusion, the world is a medium of expression for an artist for other people to view his work and take it all in. If the people in this world do not understand it, there might not be much use to it, apart from teaching in colleges about how to not write a book, poem or a movie.