In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

<span id="docs-internal-guid-ce340d2a-7fff-caff-7948-a70da089c909"><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">Art is viewed as a creative job. An open debate is how to do say whether an art work has merit or not. It is not straightforward as how do you know whether an art has a merit or not. Is it based on influence of the art work? With these in mind, it is very hard to reach a conclusion. I feel an art work can have merit without always be comprehendable by most people. However, in general art has merit when it understandable by many people.</span></p><br><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">Many artists use their artistic work to galvanize people or to state their opinions about an issue. In fact in India’s fight for freedom, artists played a vital role in inspiring and educating people about the movements and were helpful in India’s independence movements. If the art were not understandable by most people then the artists wouldn’t have influenced the people as much as they did during the fight against britsh.&nbsp;</span></p><br><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">One of the most popular art now a days is Film. In general, for most people a month doesn’t go by without watching a film. In fact, it is considered as one of the most effective way to educate or influence people. So, for a movie to influence people it must be understandable by most people. However, some people consider film just as an entertainment source. Even from that point of view, for a film to entertain people, it should be understandable by most of the people.</span></p><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">So, for a film to have merit it must be understandable by most of the population.</span></p><br><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">However, when we consider art work such as poems. In general, poems are not intended to attract normal people and is not understood by most of the people. Most of the times, the poems are targeted towards erudite readers. For instance, shakespeare’s poems are not understood by a leman. The construction and meaning is so deep that it is understood only by few people. But still, his poems are considered as master pieces exhibiting perfection. In a similar way, picasso paintings cannot be understood by many people. However, they are still viewed as extraordinary works.&nbsp;</span></p><br><p dir="ltr" style="line-height:1.38;margin-top:0pt;margin-bottom:0pt;"><span style="font-size: 11pt; font-family: Arial; color: rgb(0, 0, 0); background-color: transparent; font-variant-numeric: normal; font-variant-east-asian: normal; vertical-align: baseline;">Therefore, for an art work to have merit, it need not always be understandable by most people. Depending on the art work and the intended audience, whether the art work has merit or not can be decided to some extent.</span></p></span>