Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

There have been debates on whether scientific development gives human better understanding of this world. Some people claims that scientific development has revealed to us that the world is far more intricate than we ever known, while others assert that the world has been demystified by sciences. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the former more.

Some may argue that, throughout thousands of years of development, human has created a mature civilization. From the Stone Age, generations of horse and buggy to the technology era today, human has gained a lot of knowledge about this world and even applied the knowledge to make our lives better. However, is our understanding about this world totally correct?

Glancing back through the history, one can undoubtedly notice that many once authoritative scientific theories ended up being overturned by later discoveries. Take the development of physics as an example. Newton physics was once thought to be the truth since it explains almost every physical phenomenon perfectly. Not until Albert Einstein came up with the theory of relativity which gives these phenomenons a even better explanation, did human realize that we have not reached the ultimate comprehension of physics. Therefore, we can hardly assert we understand the rules of this world.

Moreover, human may never have the ability to know how big the universe is. In the book The Grand Design, Stephen Hawking, the prominent modern physicist, proposes that human's understanding of our environment can be analogous to a goldfish's understanding of its fishbowl. Indeed, if goldfishes had intelligence, they might be able to develop a series scientific theories that are unarguably applicable to the world inside fishbowls. Yet, living out of the fishbowl, we know that what these goldfishes understand are by no means the true reality. Similarly, as many scientific observations and theoretical deductions have suggested that there might be many other universes apart from the one we are in, many scientists start to doubt if we are really able to understand this world.

In conclusion, the development of science reveals that the world is far more complicated than we ever realized. The more we learn, the more we find out we still do not know.