Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Education is essential for the society to function properly because it helps raise children in a way that they can adequately function as social participants. However, it is still debatable what to teach the students whether a moral based education or logical positive science based. In my opinion, the most important goal for a pedagogue should be to help children learn how to logically reason because it is more beneficial for students than learning morality.

Admittedly, first problem with teaching morality through an education system is that it is a very subjective matter to decide what is right and wrong whereas logical reason has an ability to decide what is right by himself/herself. For instance, in East Turkey, there are strict traditional rules which even justify murdering young girls due to so-called honor issues of families. Historically, it varied so widely among different societies what they considered moral and desirable. All these imply that logical reasoning enables people to critisize more clearly, rationally and objectively indeed.

Besides, it is worth to mention that logical reasoning feed your curiosity about world and future immensely. Unfortunately, this is not the case for a moral concept in which you believe in fate and praying for wishes which you want them to be real rather than believing in fighting for your future or successing with effort even you are hopeless for this situation. For instance, Şahika Sayman in Turkey, as an diasbled person, became first in many swimming competitions related to her ambition and not giving up. This supports that morality teaches that this is your fate, instead, logical reasoning teaches people that this is not your written fate, in fact, this is an obstacle you should surpass this with your logical strategies.

On the other hand, sense of morality creates bonds within a society which lead to notion of unity, indulgence and cooperativeness. For instance, giving some tips to service providers is one of the traditional American cultures that other societies do not have. That has been beneficial to young part-time workers since tips helped them financially. In a logical concept, this is not a necessary treatment since service producers get already an salary,however, this is a way of showing appreciation of clients. To sum up, morality contains some fanciful values which prevent people from being selfish, followingly, it is definitely one of the traits that every member of a society should be aware of.

In conclusion, all things considered, teaching how to logically think is more beneficial to society because its positive drawbacks exceed the ones morality has.