The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

This statement assert that there is a high correlation between retention rates and free tuition policy. Faculty committee suggest that Oceania University also keep same policies with nearby colleges, which offer free tuition for their own children. There are not enough clear information to justify this offer, therefore, before takin any action, university directors should elaborate these.

First of all, one urgent clarification is differences in salaries which are directly related to retentions. These rates may be results of high professor salaries which is high incentive as expected. Most universities have alternated policies across funding professor due to their bugdets. This missing point may be the reason behind this instead of free tuition policy.

Secondly, another possible explanation is student profiles of universities. A students profile which holds qualifications such as curiosity, excitement and hardworking is always an ideal for an academic. They become more willing to teach and as they see progress they want to stay more to see and improve them further.

Besides, last notion worth to mention is that working conditions in Oceania may be not best condition for a professor. An independent and

enthusiastic academic environment always feed literature and high research funds provide more resources, leads to open doors and make capable of trying and discovering more accordingly. Following this, Seatown may have more conservative or may have small capacity for funding researches compared to Ocenia and retentions are lower instead.

Lastly, I recommend that director should conduct an evaluation about working conditions and student profiles of both universities. In addition to these, a full comparison including salaries should be executed for a warranted result. This is a need for funding policy, if numbers point out that problem is rooted from low salary in Seatown, allocating fund for free tuitions may make situations worse.

To sum up, there are some overlooked issues in the text, hence, this narrow observation is not enough to take free tuition policy as an one and only solution, this can create unexpected extra problems.