Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively

A single question asked by a person completely changed the history of the scientific understanding of probably the most imperative and then unknown arcane subject which opened doors to a glut of new theories which are beholden to it till date. The question was pretty simple but still never came across anybody's mind before this guy named Sir Isaac Newton sitting under a tree encountered an apple falling on him which engendered the question: Why does the apple fall down? The answer to it led to the discovery of what we all know today as "gravity". The prompt suggests that students should question to what they are being taught instead of blatantly accepting it to be true. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the author's suggestion and would moreover further the argument by stating that questioning should not be confined to subjective teaching but should even be applied to every quotidian aspect of life. I would like to offer two reasons to espouse my position.

Adopting the practice of accepting things as it is hedges the imponderable ability of the wonderful gift that human's have: the brain. Moreover, it confines the brain to nothing more than a memory card of a phone where students are made to store transitory bookish "information". Besides, this practice is actually a debilitating factor as it stems the logical and reasoning skills to develop and grow in an individual. One may never know throughout his life of what he actually is capable of doing if he can make a lucrative use of his mind for things of what it actually is capable of. Many of us might have learned about this in childhood that the phenomenon by fireflies produce light is called bioluminescence. but some or rather many people forget it with time. But if one knew that the reason why it is called bioluminescence is that the fireflies produce this light from their feaces thus the term "bio" that is life , fitted with "luminescence" that is light, it would now be easy to reckon when this question comes up again. Why this will happen is that the art of questioning adds value to an otherwise piece of information. Thus, "information" plus "reasoning" results to "wisdom".

Another reason to support the argument is that by questioning, we not only tend to engage in facts better but also unravel some unprecedented facts and make ourselves able to accomplish feats never achieved before. In his speech, Shaq ,a popular NBA player, talks about his teammate, the legend, Kobe Bryant, and talks about his accomplishments and when asked the reason for these achievements and why Kobe was different, he answers that no body asked as many questions as he did. So was the answer from Michael Jordan, another legendary basketball player and it was the same for some other such figures as well. The thing to learn here is that Kobe dogged to get answers to his questions thereby knowing the process of how the task( for example a particular move, or say a shot) was to be done and in the process elucidating his approach and incorporating them to his life. This questioning attitude not only fostered to build what he calls as "Mamba Mentality" but also showed him the path to try as many possibilities and variations he could try to apply to his game as he could in his career as an athlete. Thus, questioning open's gateways to parallely connected ideas starting a chain reaction.

But what if one is to counter the argument by stating that inculcating the practice of questioning among students can lead to disruptive attitude giving them the freedom to counterargue. But that isn't true. An attitude to counter an argument is always good as it may disabuse a spurious idea. But if that counterargument is engendered by haughty attitude, questioning is not to be blamed. It is better to have a competitive enemy than a dummy friend. At least the former will exhort you to perform better than him.