The surest indication of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people

Every nation aspires to be called great. This is why the government plans, strategizes, and most importantly implements the best methods towards achieving national success. Here, the speaker prefers a more holistic approach to judging whether a country is great or not, which I strongly agree to.

Admittedly, achievements bring prestige to the nation. In the world of sports for example, Brazil up until today maintains a high record in the game of football because of their constant exploits in the world football championships. The United States and Jamaica continue to fly high on the tracks of the Olympics, which in turn gives the nation a widely celebrated prestige. Due to this, the government consistently invests in sporting activities and developments of the sportsmen to ensure that these high records do not diminish.

Also, a look at the scientific research industry would delineate the relevance of quality research for international participation. Countries like the United States which possess state-of-the-art equipment for quality research continually draws the attention of other countries for studies or research partnerships. For this reason, the government does not deter to invest in the research laboratories of colleges, institutes, and universities.

However, it is not enough to refer to a nation as great because of the achievements of some of its citizens like rulers, artists, or scientists. First, who makes up the nation? The nation is made up of its citizens of which only a negligible fraction may have achieved such reputations worth celebrating. What is done when a nation is judged by only an insignificant fraction of the populace is gross misrepresentation and falsehood which must strongly be discouraged.

Secondly, regarding a nation as great when a huge number of its citizens are only trying to survive not only dents the image of the government to its people, but also proves that the government has no regard for the led. In such situations, more attention is placed on these high-flyers than to the common man. This means that basic amenities like food, shelter, and housing may not be provided for the less privileged, while the achievers are given preferential attention and treatment.

Furthermore, the falsification of the actual state of nations stifles the opportunity for foreign aid and interventions. Organizations like UNICEF, which are focused on helping the poor and marginalized may rather focus on other nations that are not great, while the obvious reality indicates that great nations are only living behind a misleading façade.

In sum, it is right for a nation to celebrate the achievements of notable artists, rulers, or scientists, but the actual state of a nation is indicated by the welfare of a majority of its citizens rather than only a few individuals. Hence, I restate my strong agreement to the recommendation of the speaker.